

# **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

## AUSTRALASIAN COLLEGE FOR INFECTION PREVENTION AND CONTROL LTD

The 2023 Annual General Meeting of ACIPC was held on Tuesday 14 November in Hall C at the International Convention Centre in Adelaide, South Australia. The Chair declared the meeting open at 5:17 pm ACDT.

**ACIPC Board Members in attendance:** Kristie Popkiss (President, Chair), Professor Philip Russo (Past-President), Dr Stéphane Bouchoucha (President-Elect), Dr. Peta-Anne Zimmerman, Kathy Dempsey, Nicola Isles, Janine Carrucan, Erica Short and Dianne Smith.

ACIPC Financial Members in attendance: Belinda Andrews, Kelly Barton, Julia Carey, Peter Collignon, Kim Comensoli, Donna Cameron, Terri Cripps, Gillian Ray-Barruel, Kaye Bellis, Mandy Davidson, Fiona De Sousa, Holly Dodd, Linda Jarratt, Marija Juraja, Yvonne Fletcher, Frances Sheehan, Sally Havers, Belinda Henderson, Michelle Doidge, Sharon Kenny, Margaret Leong, Darren Martin, Deborough MacBeth, Catherine McGovern, Cathryn Montague, Alex Mikus-Cunningham Robyn Morey, Natasha Nunes, Joshua Philp, Megan Reilly, Catherine Robbins, Brett Mitchell, Sandra Roodt, Gemma Saravanos, Cristine Sotomayor Castillo, Meredith Southon, Karen Turnbull, Victoria Westbury, Rowan Westwall, Michael Wishart, Annie Wells, Fiona Wilson, Matt Mason, Logan Salmon, Jane Purdie, Jane Tomlinson, Susan Jain, Chedly Azzouz, Roasanna Paredes, Lilian Whelan, Kasia Benson, Loida Castro, Caitlin McCashney, Tinsuelsa Thomas, Lisa GFox, Debra Lee, Petra Bookall, Claire Nayda, Wendy Peecock, Magdalena Di Giacomo, Monina Hernandez

## Non-voting members in attendance: Nil

**ACIPC Staff in attendance:** Ben Thiessen, Jackie Miley, Caroline Woolley, Amanda Grubb, Carrie Spinks

## 1. Acknowledgment of Country

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia and New Zealand and recognise their continuing connection to land, waters, and culture. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging.

## 2. Welcome and introductions

The Chair welcomed members of the College to the AGM.

## 3. Apologies

Aby Foster, Annie Wells, Carolyn Ellis,

## 4. Declaration of proxies

Deborough MacBeth for Aby Foster Fiona Wilson for Annie Wells



## 5. Declarations of conflicts of interests

Nil declared.

# 6. Confirmation of previous AGM minutes

The minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting of ACIPC held on 15 November 2022 were made available to members prior to the meeting via email and the College's website.

**Resolution:** That the minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd held on 15 November 2022 are a true and accurate record of that meeting.

Moved by: Kristie Popkiss

Seconded by: Belinda Henderson

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

# 7. Presentation of Annual Report

The President discussed the activities of the College for the financial year and tabled the

Annual Report.

## **Resolution:**

That the 2023 Annual Report for ACIPC Ltd be accepted?

Moved by: Kristie Popkiss

Seconded by: Micael Wishart

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

# 8. Presentation of Audit and Annual Financial Statements

A copy of the audited financial accounts for the period 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023 has been made available to all members in the 2023 Annual Report.

In the auditor's opinion, the financial report presents fairly and accurately the College's finances as of 30 June 2022, and of its financial performance and cash flows for the year. The auditor believes the accounts meet the requirements of the Corporations Act 2001 and the Australian Accounting Standards (including Australian Accounting Interpretations).

- Audited surplus of \$1.63m
- Equity of \$8.1m as of 30 June 2023
- Education bookings, and FIPC specifically, remained our strongest revenue stream.



- Interest income was \$100k through term deposits and is forecast to increase further this FY
- Membership income was up slightly from the previous year.

## **Resolution:**

That the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Limited's audited financial statements for the period 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023, as tabled, be accepted.

Moved by: Kristie Popkiss

# Seconded by: Maria Juraja

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

# 9. Appointment of Auditor

The Chair advised that the College needs to appoint an auditor for the College for the 2023-

2024 financial year. The Board recommends that Accru Rawsons be reappointed.

## **Resolution:**

That Accru Rawsons Chartered Accountants be re-appointed as the auditor for the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd for the 2023-2024 financial year.

Moved by: Kristie Popkiss

Seconded by: Brett Mitchell

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

## 10. Questions to the Board

Fiona Wilson: Will there be a formal evaluation of the credentialling program?

Kathy Dempsey advised that they continue to review the credentialing program. As part of the Strategic plan, there will be plans for formal research of the College's credentialling standards.

# **11.** Appointment of President-Elect

## **Resolution:**

To appoint Sally Havers as President-Elect and a Director of the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd.

Moved by: Kristie Popkiss

Seconded by: Kaye Bayliss

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.



# 12. Appointment of Directors

## **Resolution:**

To appoint Margaret Leong, Ann Whitfield, Matthew Mason, Peta-Anne Zimmerman, Janine Carrucan, Erica Short, Nicola Isles, and Catherine McGovern as Directors of the Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd.

Moved by: Kristie Popkiss

Seconded by: Belinda Henderson

The resolution was passed by a show of hands.

## 13. General Business

There was no other business submitted to the Board prior to the meeting.

#### 14. Meeting Close

The next Annual General Meeting of the Australian College for Infection Prevention and Control Ltd will be in Melbourne in November 2024 during the annual conference.

The meeting was closed at 17:39 pm ACDT.